Advice · Let's talk about: · Self Care

Let’s talk about: Grounding

Hello my lovelies!

I hope you’re feeling fabulous today!

Today we’re going to have a little chat about ‘grounding’. I’m sure you have probably heard of this magical technique for stress relief and dealing with anxiety. Grounding is all about connection and mindfulness; feeling part of your surroundings and connected to yourself.

It’s quite common for stress to cause overwhelming feelings of isolation, separation and confusion. It feels like everything around you is going bonkers and there’s nothing you can do to control it – it sucks! I would imagine anyone who has experienced these feelings has attempted on more than one occasion to find something to help. In fact, you might have even tried out grounding for yourself! Let me know in the comments below!

There are so many techniques you can use to ‘ground’ yourself. Some people go for a walk (sometimes barefoot!), some people might do a grounding yoga routine and others might resort to some meditation. I’m going to talk about one technique I’ve found really useful today and if you guys want to know more I’d be happy to post more on this topic. But for today I’m going to focus on a breath exercise which has really helped me and my anxiety – in particular, counting your breath.

To count breaths all you need is a quiet area (or just pop your headphones in), a place to sit or stand and a set of lungs! You might also fancy something to fiddle with or hold in your hands; a pebble or stress ball are good choices.

Once you’re in your place – hopefully somewhere with minimal distraction – get comfy. Relax your shoulders, your face and your hands. Try not to slouch! Close your eyes if you feel comfortable doing so, if not maybe take your gaze to your hands or focus on a set point in your vision. And begin to focus on your breath.

How does your breath feel right now? Slow, heavy, panicked?

Focus on making your breath deeper and calm.

As you breath, slowly count up to ten. Do this in sync with your breath cycle – in, out 1… in, out 2… and so on. All the way up to ten. If you feel your mind wander off towards any worries or negativity, simply start again from the bottom.

Count to ten as many times as you need. When you feel satisfied, take note of your breath again.

How does your breath feel now? Calmer and slower? Great!

Open your eyes if they are closed, roll up into your regular stance, let your breath return to a natural rhythm, give yourself a little wiggle if you need it.

Grounding complete! Hopefully you’re feeling calm and ready to face any tasks you need to! You don’t need to do this only in times of stress, many people do this every morning just to get them ready for the day ahead! Practicing techniques like this can really improve your ability to deal with tough situations and kick anxiety’s butt!

Let me know how you find this post! Like if you found it handy and maybe share with a friend who could find it useful too!

Thanks so much for reading, happy grounding!

signature

 

14 thoughts on “Let’s talk about: Grounding

    1. I read your post regarding mindfulness and I agree on some of the points. Personally for me it’s not about focusing on a thought. I just see it as a way to calm down and take in my surroundings. Thank you for taking the time to comment, I appreciate it a lot! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve heard of grounding before from a friends who really suffers with anxiety! She used it a lot, I love the idea of mindfulness ( I know people disagree on it a lot!)

    Like

    1. Yeah! It really helps my anxiety too! And each to their own! Not everything will work for everyone but if I can introduce someone to something that helps that’s great xxx

      Like

  2. This is such a helpful post and it needs to be shared with everybody! I never knew about ‘grounding’ was interested to find out what it is and what technique you use x

    Claire ❤ | mylittlememoir.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a recent convert to mindfulness – it’s the first therapeutic technique i’ve truly bought into, which is a long time coming! The Calm book has some great techniques for meditation type exercises like this, really recommend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahh another fab post! It’s funny, only the other day I was talking to someone about my anxiety at placement who is a reiki master and she mentioned that I’m not grounded, I’m just floating and I need to take some time to reconnect, feet on the floor & do some breathing or meditating! Really helpful reading your breath technique because I wouldn’t have had a clue where to start, especially with a mind that often runs 100mph. She also mentioned that you’re not grounded when your root chakra is out of balance, so I think I need to play with my crystals too, maybe use a root chakra crystal whilst I’m meditating 🙂 Keep up the fantastic content! xxxxx

    http://curiouslilpandora.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for such a great comment! Yeah sometimes the business of the world around us can contribute to our anxiety so we need to take some time out. This is probably the simplest technique but you can also count your senses; 1 thing you can see, feel, hear, taste and smell – that’s a good one too! I’m glad you can relate! Thank you ever so much xxxx

      Like

Leave a comment